Stay with IRIS or try out Smart Things?
2 2

31 posts in this topic

Ok, I have been using IRIS for several years now. I was very impressed with version 1. I've been very discouraged with version 2. I plan on opening a new business and I wanted to use IRIS and I would if it were more reliable. I've read a few posts on here about users switching to ST system, but is it more stable? Do all the devices I've spend hundreds buys still work on ST? I have all V1 IRIS sensors. I have not bought any V2 sensors and maybe my system would be more stable with those instead? Any advice from anyone on here would be greatly appreciated. I could always use a local alarm company, but I really like the ability to customize my system the way these systems work and its much cheaper! Thanks,

Nothing Iris v1 branded will work with ST any third party device like the First Alert Smoke, GE switches/outlets, water sensors, ... will work fine, also any v2 Iris branded devices will work fine on ST. i bought a ST hub when thry were half price during the November Iris issues and i have moved a number of devices over but have not decided to move over completly for a few reasons.

I'm not impressed with the ST app, they dropped support for the dashboard quick status shortcuts like all doors closed and locked, 2 lights out of 20 on, ... i like that feature of the Iris v2 cards. Stability has been fine, although stability on Iris has been fine for me except for the end of November. ST video camera integration is still in beta after around a year and the only cameras thry support don't have dedicated motion detectors and while you can setup motion recording without a seperarate motion detector it must be setup in the cameras nativd app. I am enjoying being able to write my own smartapps to do exactly what I want, however it isn't something everyone would want to tackle. So far I am using my ST as a learning playground and still relying on Iris for most of my automation and security.