New TOS and Privacy Policy
1 1

15 posts in this topic

Trying to access the app this afternoon, I had an initial screen ask me to accept the updated TOS and Privacy Policy. Unlike many such notices, this one gave no hint of the changes that were made to these very long documents. Interestingly, the "new" Privacy Policy is dated as of last summer.

Has anyone figured out what is new?

I don't know how if differs from the original TOS agreement but quickly scanning it shows that there is a huge amount of language related to professional monitoring.  I suspect that is the main focus of the update.

The good news is that this means that pro monitoring is around the corner...... and if pro monitoring is around the corner, so is local processing.

I'm just pissed off because they waited to throw the mandatory approve screen at me when I came home.  Therefore locking me out of my house for 2 hours while I studied the new stuff.  For those that want a summary and don't have time to read the TOS, here is a summary:

IRIS has no responsibilities or obligations, and the customer has absolutely no legal recourse is they screw up after being careless. And if Lowes closes support for IRIS you have no legal recourse and no refunds.

The customer on the other hand is spied on, agrees to allow IRIS access to view your full Credit Report, and so many more negatives.  Nothing good in there for the customer. Oh, and in their vagueness IRIS leaves it open to have the right to look at you in your cameras.

1 minute ago, EyeRuss said:

I'm just pissed off because they waited to throw the mandatory approve screen at me when I came home.  Therefore locking me out of my house for 2 hours while I studied the new stuff.  For those that want a summary and don't have time to read the TOS, here is a summary: