Arlo Pro 2 Cameras vs Iris Cameras
2 2

27 posts in this topic

Hey guys, I know these cameras have audio so that’s a plus but is the video substantially better than the iris cameras? Could you actually identify a person from 30 feet?

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I only have the original Iris cameras to compare against, but those were not very good.  I have the Arlo system, a total of 13 cameras including Pro, Pro 2, and Q.  It's not a bad system but it's pricey.  They are getting into smart object detection (people, person, animal) as well as package detection (recognizing the UPS guy).  They just came out with a 4K system but I have no experience with that.

If you're considering SmartThings, Arlo has a direct integration, including the ability to start/stop recording, turn the cameras on and off, plus use the cameras PIR and video motion detection features as motion sensors in SmartThings.  I wrote the ArloPilot app which can be used to synchronize the SmartThings alarm system states to the Arlo system.

When I left the Iris dumpster fire several years ago I made a decision to diversify my smart home tech to discreet, stand-alone components that can function without a hub, yet be integrated with one.  I went with Arlo for cameras, Ring for the doorbells, Hue for lighting, Ecobee for the thermostats, and Harmony for my entertainment center.  All of those function on their own, yet all of them can be integrated via SmartThings as well. 

I highly recommend that strategy as it reduces the footprint of impact of a hub failure or in this case, platform shutdown.