Is there an Idiots Guide to Rule Machine for Hubitat?

7 posts in this topic

I've had basic lighting rules running for months after switching to Hubitat from Iris.  Got all my devices recognized, but did not have time to do anything other than a dashboard and install the new app on my phone.  I have managed to make sure the hub is updated regularly, and the app, but I have not had time to sit down with at length.  I work in IT, and figured I could figure it out.  I believed I really liked Hubitat, and was looking forward to work slowing down, and spending some evenings getting Hubitat to automate more things, some basic security with the Iris components, etc.

So tonight, through sheer luck as I'm checking for updates to the hub, I check the dashboard, and see the freezer door contact is red.....luckily the door was only open half an inch, and the weather today was the first day in months it was below 80 during the day, and heading into the lower 60s tonight.  So I saved my freezer contents by sheer luck, and thought, well, that's a lesson to go ahead and setup Hubitat to detect a contact open, and send me a notice.

Two + hours later, before calming down, I was ready to pitch the Hubitat Hub in the trash.  I can't "get" Rule Machine 3 or 4 to be "clear" to me.  I may be stupid with this, but I did use Powershell several times for work,  and SSH into a half dozen wifi access points and manually download and install firmware on them.  My basic ability to read, type on a keyboard and click a mouse button is solid.

I know their forums are filled with helpful people with lots of if/then else examples posted, but I don't even know how to get to that view, and all I simply want is guidance of how to build something in the Rule Machine GUI's that detects the freezer door sensor being open for a few minutes, and will notify me either through the Hubitat Android app to my phone, or a text message, "Freezer Door Open".